progress update: #DiversityBingo2017

HEY EVERYONE!

One of my few reading goals for 2017 is partaking in DiversityBingo. It’s a reading challenge that was created by a bunch of people in the book community and it urges people to read more diversely. While I’ve already been trying to read more diversely before this challenge, the prompts of this bingo sheet definitely made things a bit easier. It gave me an idea of what books to look for and the hashtag #DiversityBingo2017 on twitter is full of amazing recommendations.

czmlbaeusaa6hub

At the end of 2016 I posted a video with the books I planned on reading for each of these prompts. If you’re interested in watching that, you can do so here.

In my monthly reading wrap-ups (on my Youtube channel) I’ve mentioned whenever a book fit a prompt but I thought it would be nice to summarize which prompts I’ve completed so far in a blog post. I’m pretty sure I’m a bit behind on this challenge but I’m hoping I can still catch up.

For the prompts that I’ve completed so far (clicking on the links will bring you to the books Goodreads page):

Romance with a trans MC: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

SFF with a disabled MC: On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

MC with an underrepresented body: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Neuro-diverse MC (own voices): Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Bisexual MC (own voices): How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

MC with an invisible disability: One Last Song by S. K. Falls

MC of color in SFF: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Free Choice: Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

Non-western (real world) setting: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

MC with chronic pain: Far From You by Tess Sharpe

Arab MC (own voices): A Bottle in the Gaza Sea by Valérie Zenatti

MC with a wheelchair: Nujeen by Nujeen Mustafa

Book by author of color: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Biracial MC (own voices): Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Black MC (own voices): Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

Have you been participating in #DiversityBingo2017? How is your progress? Tell me in the comments!

Happy reading,

Tasha

Leave a comment